IT’S REPORT CARD TIME

When I was growing up – I truly despised report cards. My father thought that they were the ultimate in telling him about the character of his children. He could not be bothered with homework or research or anything of that sort – just report cards (he also worked 14 hour days and some weekends – so he was not around a lot). My mother could not help with homework – english was not her first language and by the time I would have to explain everything to her…it would take too long…so I was pretty much on my own. I vowed I would always be there to help my kids if they asked, with their school work. I was always checking on homework every day…constantly communicating with their teachers about what is going on…helping them with research – the whole nine yards…so report cards are important in our house but because I was so involved with my kids – that I had to see what effort they were putting forth in school because I knew the work they were doing at home.

The boys drove me a bit nuts…different stories…excuses…just endless. However they soon learned in high school – that anything less then a “C” meant you were going to have privileges taken away. That was a great motivational tool in our house. Well Crystalyn just started high school when the boys graduated – so I had to start over…she has been so borderline – I was really worrying about her. She did the work – but she is a no go on exams..just could not connect the dots – sort of speak. Her reports and research and such always got her A’s but anything like tests and I could not figure out what was happening. She has tested me the most. Well now it is Senior Year…it is do or die sort of year. You either make it or you don’t. No More Excuses – time to get so serious you scare yourself!

Well something has snapped in the child….in her 6 finals that she had taken two weeks ago – she got 5 “A’s” and 1 “B” – OMG – I am so thrilled…your final grades for those classes were “A’s” and “B’s” and a “C” – I am tickled pink!!! She was flying on cloud nine on Friday when she brought home her report card…she said she is going to frame it and hang it up…I would too! I am so proud of her progress…so proud that she found her niche…(BTW – the “C” was in aerobics – the teacher just clashed with Crystalyn – kept threatening to fail her because she was a senior and needed her class to graduate – Crystalyn does not respond well to threats at all)

So Now with only two more semesters left until graduation – she can see the light – now she is so into applying for the community college – (one of her teachers – that has taken a personal interest in her – which is a good thing – he teaches in the field she is interested in) suggested to her to go to the community college and get all the basics and foundation out of the way (and cheaper) and you walk away with an Associate’s degree in the basic of your field…it is also MUCH easier to get into a major university here if you are a transfer…so she is going for it. Before she was only interested in some design trade school (no transferable credits) so he tried to steer her away from that thinking.

She wants to work in digital designing – 3-D graphics – multi media art….well she has had this teacher all 4 years of high school. (he also had my boys for computer classes)..but he has gone beyond for her. That is because he sees SO MUCH POTENTIAL in her – I think he thinks she is his prodigy. So for the next two semesters – he has set up a computer in his classroom just for her with special programs to get her a bit of a start in the field – to learn the basics – so that she has a bit of a taste of the world she is setting out for. I am so thrilled for her – he has met my hunnie during open house and they spoke for hours about football and gator hunting and such (he is a country boy at heart) – and he really thinks Crystalyn has a very special talent for the field. She is so excited – and just beaming from ear to ear – about what is ahead…

Yes it is report card time – and it is wonderful!!!

Peace!!

4 responses to “IT’S REPORT CARD TIME

  1. How wonderful Ellie! It sounds like she has a brilliant path ahead of her!

  2. we sniffed over to wish you a Happee Blogoversary!

    seems you been away a long time… you might have furgot you bloggies birthday

  3. just checking in. I see you are back online commenting, but I haven’t seen any recent posts.

    Hope you are well.

Leave a Reply

